Types Of Traffic Violations In New Jersey
If you have been issued a ticket for a traffic offense, seeking the counsel of a knowledgeable traffic violation lawyer will help you understand and protect your rights. With over 30 years of experience as both a prosecutor and criminal defense attorney, traffic violation attorney Michael J. Beatrice’s wide range of experience gives him a unique legal perspective and enables him to develop innovative and successful defense strategies for all types of traffic violation cases.
Penalties For Traffic Violations
The penalties for traffic violations can include hefty fines, points on your license, driver’s license suspension or revocation, and even jail time. In New Jersey, traffic violations such as DWI, speeding, reckless driving and Driving While Suspended are heard in the municipal courts. Mr. Beatrice has represented defendants in every county in New Jersey and provides aggressive legal representation for traffic violation charges such as:
Reckless Driving: Reckless driving is one of the most serious moving violations in New Jersey. If you are convicted of reckless driving in NJ, you will receive a minimum of five motor vehicle points on your license. Depending on the circumstances, you could be facing fines of $200 or more, driver’s license suspension and jail time. Reckless driving charges are often tacked on to DUI/DWI and excessive speeding charges.
DUI/DWI: Although DUI/DWI are charged as traffic violations rather than criminal offenses, convictions carry substantial legal repercussions and penalties.
For a first DWI offense with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of at least 0.08%, you may face:
- Loss of your driver’s license for at least three months
- $250-$400 in fines
- From 12 hours to 30 days of jail time
- $1,000 annual automobile insurance surcharge for three years
- Ignition Interlock for 6 to 12 months.
- Alcohol/substance abuse assessment
- Two days of mandatory alcohol classes at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)
- Other costly fees and surcharges
A DWI conviction with a BAC of 0.10% or higher comes with larger fines and longer license suspensions for first-time offenders. You may lose your license for up to one year.
If you are a repeat DUI/DWI offender, the consequences increase significantly, and may include:
- Fines of $500 to $1,000
- 30 to 90 days of community service
- 12 to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- Thousands of dollars in additional automobile insurance surcharges
- Increased jail time
- 2 to10 year license suspension
If you are convicted of DUI or DWI while driving in a school zone, you are subject to an additional $500 to $800 fine, up to 60 additional days of jail time, and your driving privileges may be suspended for 1 to 2 more years. In addition to these penalties, there are other surcharges and fees for DUI/DWI offenses that can add up to tens of thousands of dollars.
Driving With A Suspended License (DWS):
There are many reasons why a driver may have their license suspended. If convicted, you may face $500 to $1500 in fines, incarceration, permanent revocation of your driver’s license and revocation of your vehicle’s registration.
These are just a few examples of New Jersey traffic violations. A more extensive list of offenses and penalties can be found via the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Division website.
Contact A Traffic Violation Attorney You Can Trust
If you have been charged with traffic offenses, traffic violation attorney Michael J. Beatrice and his experienced legal team will fight for your rights and provide the top-notch legal representation you deserve. For a free telephone consultation, contact us at 201-512-8200.